top of page

How to Light Incense

Yes you need a lighter, incense, and a place to let the ashes fall, but this is more than that. Lighting incense is about a prayerful intention: a blessing to you, another person, an object, or... an ancestor. As I mentioned in my How to Thank Your Ancestors post, ancestors aren't solely of the blood line. They include a spiritual line.


I take my incense stick in my hands and rub my hands prayerfully. Sometimes I say a prayer on my knees or while standing or while walking to my proverbial altar. Many times that not, I use a lighter to start the burn of the incense. Just before that I recite the following prayer:


May we always remember those who have gone before us; May we be inspired by their vision and valor; May their lives continuously remind us that service is more important that success; That people are more important than possessions; That principle is more important than power. May whatever we do be shaped and molded by honesty, competence, and commitment. May our children and our children's children carry forth with pride, the nobility of our history and tradition. To the Creator of all of us, we dedicate our lives to make this world better and more beautiful.
Sifa Praise Prayer that I use for my incense lightings

"May we always remember those who have gone before us; May we be inspired by their vision and valor; May their lives continuously remind us that service is more important that success; That people are more important than possessions; That principle is more important than power. May whatever we do be shaped and molded by honesty, competence, and commitment. May our children and our children's children carry forth with pride, the nobility of our history and tradition. To the Creator of all of us, we dedicate our lives to make this world better and more beautiful."


One thing that I consider important about lighting incense, worship, and celebration is consistency. If nothing else, be consistent and remember to give thanks and praise. All glory to God.

All the Best,

CLG (Clarreese La'Nay Greene)

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page