top of page

How to Have Gratitude

Dictionary Definitions from Oxford Languages

the quality of being thankful; readiness to show appreciation for and to return kindness.

Similar: thanks, appreciation, recognition, regard

Clarreese and friend pose for photo at a fair: one leg out, off the ground, and leaned back smiling
Clarreese and friend pose for photo at a fair

Remember what I told you about appreciation? This is the corequisite, if you will. We remember its life before us and picture the hands its passed through: appreciation. First, second, third: we are grateful.

Gratitude, or acts there of, is about showing thanks. How can you be appreciative if you can't first show thanks? The definition says gratitude can prepare you to appreciate. I know someone is out there saying that you can be grateful and not appreciate. Because, I know there are many times I wasn't allowed to attend sleepovers, and couldn't quite appreciate the reason, but remained grateful for the moments of staying at home and enjoying my mother's cooking and the company of my siblings. I was appreciating family time when I couldn't appreciate not being at my friend's house. Gratitude prepares you for a wealth of things: hard conversations and the day ahead. Even though the definition says gratitude can prepare you to appreciate, it can also prepare you to forgive.


So how does one do gratitude? How do we become grateful?

It really is as simple as writing it, saying it, and feeling it. I am grateful for God. I am grateful that nothing that I write has to be perfect. I am grateful for country music. I feel this good feeling for that and I express it. Boom. Gratitude.


All the Best,


CLG (Clarreese La'Nay Greene)


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page