top of page

WWWWWH: Moving, How to Move (pt. 1)

Lucky for me, the destination was already chosen.


My moving "boxes" (super huge black storage containers and a blue luggage)
My moving "boxes" (super huge storage containers and a luggage)

There's plenty of different reasons why we chose to move, whether that is for a job, to be closer to loved ones, or for university studies. For me, it was the very last of those I mention. Moving is not just the process of picking your stuff up, taping it, shipping it to another location, and meeting it there. Or maybe that was the process for some people. No one really talks about the process of moving yourself. In my head, it seemed so simple and had steps to follow in order, but here, I will mention the difficulties.


Finding a place. Now I'll admit this was tough, especially moving into a college town. Everything was taken or there would be applications with openings, but if it wasn't something there was another thing and typically it was me being the second to apply for something. One thing that me and my summer roommate discussed was getting a house together. It turned out to be just her succeeding in that process. As I twiddled my thumbs and cried (often), everyone else was in my face like "I would be freaking out so much more if I were you." By the time I had started to hear that from people, I was chanting a mantra 1000% of the time: God didn't bring me this far to leave me. I remember being so heated, then sad, then confused. I was like "I know He didn't bring me out here to middle-of-nowhere-USA to be this upset. That's where I got the mantra from. It calmed me down and allowed me to pivot from considering apartments and roommates to houses.

I can't remember what time of day it was, but there I was on Zillow searching up homes. In the back of my head, God was reminding me what He promised me. I found the home I currently am in now and called the owners and met them. As we wrapped up the house tour and I completed paperwork for consideration, they let me know that about seven people were ahead of me. At that point, the staleness and dryness of the house and the creaking of me walking on the wooden floors and all the frustration of finding housing before was released as I said, "okay."

Some days later, in the midst of my Bible study, on the floor of a friend's bedroom room, I was meditating on a particular verse. Then I wrote: all is subject to change. Then the phone rang. Then I was crying and on my knees praising God.

Rewriting this whole process for someone else to read... I hope you remember that God has always been in that strange business of doing both: being ridiculous and incredible, being funny and so serious, making you want to laugh and cry.


All the Best,


CLG (Clarreese La'Nay Greene)





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page