top of page

How to Thank Your Ancestors

It is important to recognize those that came before you. Before you were even to conceptualize a proverbial baton pass from your parents or guardians to yourself, there were people making the track, making the run, getting to the track, and finding their own strides in their run. This is about how to thank them for that.


In my opinion, thanking your ancestors can be as simple as saying and meaning: Thank you. Maybe you want to go deeper. Do you want to celebrate them? I've made a post about How to Celebrate if you are interested in checking that out. One thing that I do to both thank and honor my ancestors is light incense. What is the process of lighting incense about? I've also made a post about How to Light Incense. Thanking your ancestors is about acknowledgement of the work that they have done to get you to where you are today.


That said, the people and their descendants are not where our ancestry begins. There is a spiritual ancestry that we carry, from the trees to the land to the water. I believe there lies hope for me even at the bottom of the ocean. Even in the outers of space. My ancestor's reach is wide and deep-- vast. I consider that they must of had hardship and hard decisions to make like me. I consider that they did their best no matter what they were faced with. Above all, I consider that they made it their business to believe in God and greater. I consider that it was all passed on to me. From their well wishes to their pain to their weird taste for the tang of avocado and honey, and Black sheep, and I thank them for all of it. I even recite a little prayer. Check out my post on How to Light Incense.


All the Best,

CLG (Clarreese La'Nay Greene)

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page