top of page

WWWWWH: Asking Questions, How to Ask

When it comes to questions, it's important to know that which you can Google and that which you cannot and also ask yourself if it is an appropriate question and if it is a kind question. For example: "Is that your real hair?" is not a great question. Offenses aside, this post is more about how you might ask the questions you really want to know to the people you want to know it from in a more academic, financial, and professional sense). I don't mean to instruct you to ask Rihanna to drink her bath water, but if that is what you get from this then so be it.


Clarreese laughing after getting caught doing something silly before the timer went of.
Clarreese laughing after getting caught doing something silly before the timer went off.

One thing I always say about questions, especially in the context of professors, supervisors, bosses, and colleagues: they are there to answer your questions. You aren't some isolated know-it-all who can do it all and literally know it all. That's not your purpose. Step back and lose the ego quickly if you think it is. These positions of student and employee don't exist without teacher and boss. They exist together and kind of service one another. Think of a see-saw. Without someone on both ends of the thing it may not function just right.


One thing that I make it my business to do is copy many people on one email when I have questions that I want to send via email that I have asked more than once. I don't mind clueing in other people into my business at that point when that happens. I also learned that sometimes when people say no or that something isn't possible (in terms of academic, professional, or financial questions), it's because you asked the wrong person about it. It's about you giving yourself enough grace and mustering up the courage to ask again and try again and I love limiting that process with a couple round of multiple people CC'd on to the email. I introduce myself, bless their day, then get into the business of the situation. How you ask is just as important as the question itself.


Now you have courage and the question. How do you ask? Like you'd ask your mother, guardian, grandma, ancestor, or that nice little old woman that calls you "baby," you ask with kindness and gratitude. Of course it's urgent. I'm not saying to sugar coat anything, but I am saying that be careful with the words you type and say because you might have to eat them one day.


Now go ask.


All the Best,


CLG (Clarreese La'Nay Greene)



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page