top of page

A Reflection on Visiting Spain

Literally wearing less and going out more, I did a number of things for the first time including wearing a two piece bikini in public, swimming with my friend in the ocean, and engaging in regular Spanish conversation without being dramatic about what I don’t know (because there’s actually a lot of that— that which I don’t know). I also talked about how weird travel can be in general when there aren't these varying experiences going on in my Travel is Weird post. This post is a reflection on what I learned there. I have come back to share the proverbial souvenir of knowledge.


Photo collage of pictures from time in Spain and Gran Canaria including two selfies and two shots at length in front of a cathedral in Valencia and the other, somewhere on the streets of Gran Canaria


First things first: If the flight leaves your luggage, they leave your luggage. What we aren't doing is getting too upset over it. Yes it is uncomfortable, but don't let it get you too far out your zone. You're still going to have a great time. Promise. File a complaint and request the maximum payout that can be done. Period, the end.


Walking a lot, I had a great appreciation for public transport and an even greater appreciation for taxis. I had a strong unappreciation for nearly getting backed into. Yes, a whole call tried to back into me on the sidewalk! They got cussed out in Spanish, but not by me. However, I did pick up cabrón and I don't see it leaving my vocabulary anytime soon.


Say no to tapas. That's it. That's that souvenir.


If you're the friend like me who does not care to completely plan out travel, but would rather vibe out and you are traveling with a friend with an itinerary, take the time to do your routines because I know you have them. Whether that is journaling, gratitude notes, or just a bit of meditative and prayerful silence before the alarm goes off or while their in the shower--it will make all the difference. You'll be able to be more present instead of wishing you could bathe in the ocean a bit longer and linger for a spell in the hot sand.


Eat together and laugh often. And when I say eat together, I don't mean just paying for all the food and eating only your ordered things. Share what you have and ask to try the hot sauce they requested with your tofu. Nothing is really that spicy in Spain anyways. Delicately flavored, but not overwhelmingly rich. When you laugh, let it hurt your stomach and face cheeks and heal your heart. Don't do those fake office laughs anymore. There's no one you need to impress here on Earth.


Side note: I started dreaming more since returning to the US. Not dreaming like American Dream dreaming. Just seeing things in color in my sleep. I fight back stronger in them if there is conflict and I can scream and sound comes out in my dreams. I say no with my chest and find cover in storms. These are some of my dreams. There is something about dreams and vacation that scream peace and relaxation. I want to try that more: mental vacations. "Sorry, Clarreese isn't here right now, call back another time." I think if we practice being away mentally, the need to do it physically might be realize less because we enjoying ourselves more. Right?


Another side note: I’m attracted to people that can make a lot out of so little because when it feels like the fire is coming down, and I’m no where near the ocean, I need someone that an make do with a bucket of water. There's nothing you need to take by storm. Make a lot out of a little with a mental vacay. Chase the peace within you waiting to settle down, calm down, or really sit down.


SO, that's what was in mi bolsa, trinkets of wisdom and dreams and laughter. Let me wrap this up real quick. In Spain, we did a night hike. We remembered that the ocean is living and powerful. We learned that at night, all the cockroaches appear. I freed up my left arm and my thighs burned and rubbed maliciously, and I got lots of sea salt water in my mouth and hair and I know you're thinking about the sodium, but I'm thinking about its healing properties and the smell of the ocean in the air.


All the Best,


CLG (Clarreese La'Nay Greene)



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page