top of page

I Am A Friend Too

Updated: May 21, 2023

"What is important is not just what you do--"I am writing a book"--but how you do it, how you approach it, and what you come to value...We are a part of everything." - Natalie Goldberg


This is a creative writing about are relationship to everything.

I gave myself ten minutes.

Photo collage that shows Clarreese in different spaces and places with friends and mostly smiling.
Photo collage made by friend, Sri Sri
 

I am a friend to the sunlight that throws itself through the blinds in the window and kisses me on my bed. I am a friend to the collections of pens and pencils that sit in the cup on my desk. I am a friend to stacks of mail, stacks of book, and chopsticks. I am a friend to the accents on letters. I am a friend to the writing on the wall: the ones I tapes from letters and notes and figures and post-its, and the ones that I literally wrote. I am a friend to potholes and cracks in the plot. I am a friend to the mountains and the hills. I am a friend to the sunset and the streets. I am a friend to the sharp side of knives. I am a friend to the period mark in sentences. I am a friend to emojis and whistles. I am a friend to fireworks and rocks. I am a friend to rivers, those who carry our dreams, anger, blood, and life. I am a friend to anks and crosses. I am a friend to boxes of lace and fabrics. I am a friend to paintbrushes and watercolor. I am a friend to color-by-numbers and pots and pans. I am a friend to glassware, lids, and caps. I am a friend to the wide-brimmed hats. I am a friend to the snail and the ladybug. I am a friend to the tree and the grass. I am a friend to the cat and elephant. I am friend to the land. I am friend to the mugs and air freshner. I am friend to the locked doors and diaries. I am friend to the necklace, ring, and bracelet. I am friend to photography. I am friend to eyeglasses and nose rings. I am friend to the creaky stairs. I am friend to the dank, musty, dusty, open-floor basements. I am friend to the ant and the spider. I am friend to the numbers. I am friend to the zodiac. I am friend to the microwave and oven. I am friend to the kitchen sink. I am friend to soil, dust, and sand. I am friend to the encrusted mold. I am friend to the dirty corners of the bathtub. I am friend to the rust. I am friend to clogs. I am friend to the fruit and the shrub. I am friend to the screen. I am friend to the mat. I am friend to the wind and rain. I am friend to the air. I am friend to the dashed marks along the roadway. I am friend to the plant.


All the Best,


CLG (Clarreese La'Nay Greene)

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page