top of page

Encouragement from My Father

This is from my dad: a mentor, a scholar, an engineer, a veteran, and a counselor. More than that. And this was encouragement that I received at a vulnerable point in my life, so it's vulnerable to share. Things didn't go well in most of this text, but he points out that even when it did go left, it was all right. I am reminding you and I that there is still time to get to the 'alright.' You're welcome to replace my name with yours in this practice. You can send it to yourself in a text or email for later, as he did both for me, or just read it right here.


 

Subject: God's Gift

Feb 22, 2023, 9:31 AM



Good morning, My Clar.


I apologize for doing this to you but it just keeps coming back to me about how God has Blessed you. Let me explain. I may not have all of the dates, people, places and the exact situation together but this is how I interpreted everything.


1) those on your volleyball team in high school thought you did not know how to play volleyball. They thought you did not understand the rules. They thought you were not a good fit. One Dad said to me she is a good team mate.


Well, graduation happened: my Clarreese was blessed with what God has given her and she used it well. She was awarded for her heart’s work, her hard work, her God given blessing: ‘ the principal invited you to be on stage- move over Valedictorian and Salutatorian because Clarreese is here. You see the principal did not know, your classmates did not know, your teammates did not know, the valedictorian and salutatorian did not know that you have a gift from God and in the end it shines so bright it makes them say you have a gift from God on high. Laura from Church said it to me and your Mom: she could not sit down from clapping and calling your name- she said you are a genius- you are blessed with talents from God. The parent looked at me and I humbly said the kids all graduated. Then, he stated to me that You are smart and gifted. This is the Clarreese I know. They do not know what you have been blessed with but they will soon see you put ink to paper and bring tears to their eyes- this is the Clar I know: Who never backs down to a challenge; who never surrenders, who makes a way in her writing skills that she was blessed with to let those around her know- I have a blessing from God- praise Our God in heaven- not me. This is the Clar I know.


2) The ___ professor came in the class and said for the first year- well I do not remember anyone ever winning this award. But, we have a student that has won this great award (let me help her: your writing skills Clar) and without your approval she just informed you and the class that it was you. You told me you were upset because she did not tell you- but, she saw what your family continues to see- A Blessed young lady from God that has been able to move obstacles, a young lady from God that has been able to win grants, scholarships, writings, prizes, gifts and cards because she is so talented.


3) the professor and a jealous classmate tried to discourage you by saying that you were involved in plagiarism. You called me and your Mom and told us that the professor wanted to talk to you about the paper you wrote. I remember how you were upset. I told you to give me a minute. Your Mom and I contacted the President and she had the Vice President contact us. I told the VP that when you were in the ninth grade you were selected for a full scholarship at ___ because of your writing skills. I told him that you were selected over high school seniors. I told him the professor is jealous of her achievements. I told him I shall leave work and come there if I need to. The next thing he asked was if you think he is discriminating against you. I told him to ask you- you will tell him the truth. He told me that professor will have to present the case to him and it will stop with him because he knows you. He knows how talented you are and he believed you.

During your graduation night/ ceremony you were presented with several awards including the President’s award for school and community.


3) Clarreese, remember how the teacher did not believe you knew all of the French words you knew- she thought you cheated. So, she gave you the test again. Then, she apologized for her mistake. No one can take away what you know.


Show them with your writing. Continue doing your research- in the end you will be teaching the class while those same young and old professors will be learning. God has always blessed you in the end with your writing- he will bless you again.


Keep your head up!!


Love,

Dad

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page